Steer for the deep waters only

Robert Day's thoughts on his photography, his writing and his business

Becalmed

leave a comment »

The title says it all, really. Very few new enquiries coming in, and whilst the days are just packed, the pay-days are further and further apart. The few enquiries I have had have come to nothing so far: in particular, an academic organisation enquired about reprinting my award-winning photo from 2008, and added the giveaway phrase “We are a not-for-profit organisation”. I offered them a discount price on the reprint, as they did give me some publicity at the time that I won the award, “in view of our previous business relationship”. So far, there has been no response, either to agree the price or to try it on to get the image for nothing. They may be “not for profit”, but I have to be “not for nothing”!

Still, I did have a bit of a smile today. I was cold-called by a major charity this afternoon, and when the nice bloke on the other end of the phone was just beginning to get into his spiel, I cut him off, saying that I was self-employed, and given the state of business right now, sorry but he wasn’t going to get any money out of me. Just to be nice, he asked what my line of self-employment was. When I said “professional photographer”, we got into a discussion about the state of trade and people expecting work for nothing, and how even the staple business – weddings, christenings and bar mitzvahs – were being affected by the “my brother’s got a good camera” brigade.

“Oh, when I got married a couple of years ago, we had a professional photographer and you can tell the difference – all the proper gear and you get far better pictures than someone’s brother” he said.

“Please tell all your friends – especially those planning weddings!” I said.

I’ve got the images scanned now for Chapter One of the book – Derby, Belper and Nottingham stations, 1972-75. So here’s another picture of the old Derby station in 1972.

Derby Midland station, 1972

Apart from the fact that this glorious building has been replaced by something far less ornate, the main items of interest in this picture are the cars of the era: and visible in the picture, in front of the Hillman Minx parked behind the tree on the left of the picture, is an original Midland Railway cast-iron boundary marker. As the Midland Railway ceased to exist in 1923, we can safely assume that it had been there for at least fifty years when this picture was taken, and probably a lot longer. Whether or not it’s still there is another matter…

Written by robertday154

July 26, 2011 at 4:18 pm

Leave a Reply

